A Day of Firsts…

January 1, 2010

Today is a day of firsts—the first day of the ‘10 decade and the first blog I have ever written in my life.  In the last week, I have been introduced to the concept of personal branding, and the more I learn about it the more excited I am.  I have been told that this is a learning experience, and like everything else in life, it will take some time until I really find my rhythm, identify my value, and communicate effectively on this site.  It will be a challenge, but one that to which I am looking forward.

First, a little about me.  I am a student at the University of Nevada, Reno and I love it.  I am majoring in Business Management and have found a passion for Human Resources Management.  From a management perspective, I have two roles: I am a mother of a beautiful four-year old girl and I am the manager of a dental office.  I am fortunate enough that even though my position is a full-time position, the owner of the office allows me to attend classes and work part-time.

Now, a little about my passion.  I want to be a great manager.  I want to be an advocate for my employees and ensure that they are treated correctly, and in turn, they will reciprocate by being committed to my organization and striving to accomplish their best work possible.  I truly believe that when an employee feels valued and that their contributions are appreciated, their loyalty for their company deepens, and everyone in the company will benefit.

This blog is the first real step I have taken in self discovery.  I think the greatest benefit from this adventure is that I will identify what my values are and how I want to apply them to my day to day operations.  In addition to writing this blog, I am going to read what others have already contributed and gain from their experiences.  Although there may some bumps in the road, I think it’s going to be an awesome ride!

8 Responses to “A Day of Firsts…”

  1. Alex Wilson Says:

    Excellent post Christina, great start to a new year. Very insightful assessment and self-review, good luck on the journey ahead.

  2. Bret Simmons Says:

    Great start, Christina! See if you can add your picture to your about me page. Looking forward to more of your posts. Bret


  3. Added the picture…thank you!

  4. vernonryoung Says:

    I love your outlook on not only improving yourself but improving for the people around you. That is servant leadership! Did you notice Bret’s article post on that? Good luck in your journey of self discovery.

  5. Ashley Betz Says:

    Great post Christina! I enjoyed reading this, especially the section about valuing your employees. I look forward to reading your future blogs.
    -Ashley


Leave a Reply

