Specialization of Your Staff

January 7, 2010

As a manager, I want to constantly improve my office. Managers often have the responsibility of overseeing many different aspects of their environment, and at times areas of their jobs can become neglected, or may not function as well as they should or could.

Here’s a little tip I have learned in the last few years and I would love to share it with you…

Utilize your staff!!! We all learned about specialization in school, and now is the time to institute it into your workplace if you haven’t already. I have one staff member who is extremely comfortable on the phone with patients, but when she first started she was terrified of the phone. I started off by having her confirm appointments for me. In the beginning she was hesitant, but I knew it was a great way to get her comfortable because most times we just leave a message.

Next, I got her comfortable with answering the phone, making appointments and answering general questions about patient care. She used to refer the patients to me quite often, but now is able to handle the majority of the questions herself. After getting all this under her belt, I was able to give a bigger responsibility…

This assistant is now responsible for scheduling all continuing care in my office. She keeps my schedule full and production high, which is part of my responsibility as a manager. This takes some of the burden off of me, and my employee is contributing to the overall improvement of the office.

The best part about this is I have an employee who has a specialized task in my office, and I can tell by her attitude that she takes pride in this task. It seems as though it is a small stepping stone, however, I have accomplished several things. Work is being completed accurately and efficiently. My employee prides herself in her work and is now comfortable in phone etiquette, scheduling patients, resolving billing issues, and maintaining the schedule. I know I can depend on her to do this job correctly and it makes me value her more as an employee. Finally, I have delegated a time consuming task at a lower cost to the office so that I can apply my time to other tasks that no one else is qualified or allowed to complete. All in all, a job well done!

5 Responses to “Specialization of Your Staff”

  1. jennalundemo Says:

    I really liked this blog Christina. It is important to take the time with your employees and utilize them, even if it may take more time in the beginning. Being an effective manager involves training the employee to effectively perform tasks without anyone breathing down their back while building confidence. Kudos to you.


  2. I liked how you developed your employee’s potential and worked around her hesitations. Great tip.

  3. scottrmoreno Says:

    Christina, good job with empowering your employees and giving a layered foundation for this specific employee to learn and adapt. Life is about facing challenges and experiencing new things that we are not always comfortable with.


Leave a Reply

