Just One of Those Days…

January 8, 2010

Why can’t people try hard all the time, do everything perfectly, and on time, and save me all the trouble???

I guess if that happened I wouldn’t have a job! Managing can be TOUGH sometimes. Especially when the people that aren’t doing their job correctly are your equals, because there is only so much that you can do about it.

What is the best way to approach this? Ideally, you would have time for a nice one-on-one and lay it all out on the table. Clarifications would be made, thoughts would be processed, and goals accomplished. No one would get their feelings hurt and everyone would walk away a winner. Unfortunately, life is not ideal. I am a proactive manager. There was a point not too long ago that I would never say ANYTHING, to ANYONE. Period. I had to take a long, hard look at myself, and how I conducted business. I realized that if I didn’t start shaking things up a little, I might not be able to keep my job.

Now, I take things on a case by case basis. I can’t nitpick every little thing that happens to me. There was no point in having a staff meeting today to address the issues that occurred. Tomorrow is a whole new day, and I will never have to work with that person again. That was enough of a reason not to bring anything up today…

I guess what I am trying to say is that I have learned to pick and choose my battles. A lot of extra work occurred today, things did not flow as well as they should have, and it was a long, hard day. But, part of my job is to weigh each decision I make carefully, and fully contemplate the consequences of my actions. I really feel like I am learning more and more everyday, and as a result improving myself and what I can offer to my current and future employers.

2 Responses to “Just One of Those Days…”

  1. sharonmarkovsky Says:

    I can totally relate to a having one of those days. It helps to remember that others around you are probably having that same type of “one of those days”. And I agree you have to pick your battles and not every situation is a teachable one. As Dr. Simmons taught us in organizational behavior class, they only thing you can change is you.

    Great blog, I enjoyed reading it!


  2. Sharon,

    Picking and choosing my battles is definitely what I have learned to do. I agree that the only thing I can change is my behavior, and I am working diligently to remember that!

    Thanks for the comment,

    Christina


Leave a Reply

