Adapting To Change

January 13, 2010

Today brought a lot of change into my life…

I am going to be working with a new dentist effective immediately. With this comes so many different things. Each doctor has a different way of treating patients and how they like to run their practice. The change is very good for me. I have worked with six different dentists, and each one of them ran their practices differently. Each time I work with a new doctor it is a great learning experience

The hardest part about this doctor change is that my staff is very concerned about their hours. The new doctor will be working a very different schedule, which benefits the practice, but is going to be hard on the staff. I have spoken to each one of them individually regarding the office changes so that they feel as though I care about their livelihood (which I do),and so that they are more comfortable with the changes that are about to occur.

The best I can do for my employees right now is show consideration and empathy, while still remaining professional. There is a strong possibility that I may not need the same amount of staff that I needed before to run my office efficiently. If that is the case, to reduce costs, someone will be let go.

This is one of the hardest parts of managing. I work with a small staff, and we become closer than people working in larger corporations. As these changes happen, I will do everything in my power to represent my staff and their concerns when decisions are made regarding their schedules, their pay and their hours. However, I still need to remember that it is my job to protect the best interests of my employer.

I will be following these changes over the next few posts. As I write this post I feel somewhat somber. I’m not sure what will happen over the next few weeks, and I am well aware that no one’s job is secured indefinitely, even mine. I will take each day as an opportunity to show my worth to my new doctor and represent my staff and their needs as best I can.

Leave a Reply

